Main Menu



Holy Orders

The Sacrament of Holy Orders in the Catholic Church includes three orders: bishop, priest, and deacon. In the phrase "Holy Orders", the word "holy" simply means "set apart for some purpose." The word "order" (Latin: ordo) designates an established civil body or corporation with a hierarchy, and ordination means legal incorporation into an ordo. In context, therefore, a holy order is simply a group with a hierarchical structure that is set apart for ministry in the Church.

To learn more about how to become part of the Capuchin Order, please click here.